Meet the inspiring speakers who will inform you about the latest trends and success stories in Nanomedicine, Advanced Thechnilogies and emerging Medtech at NME21!

More information will be added in the coming days, stay tuned!

Keynote Speakers

Andreas Kuhn

Senior Vice President RNA Biochemistry & Manufacturing at BioNTech RNA Pharmaceuticals GmbH

Andreas Kuhn has worked in the field of RNA biochemistry and molecular biology for more than twenty-five years. His work on RNA-based immunotherapies began in 2007 in the academic group of Ugur Sahin at the University Clinic Mainz, and Andreas joined BioNTech SE shortly after its founding in 2008. In his current role as Senior Vice President RNA Biochemistry & Manufacturing the main focus is expanding proprietary technologies to increase the efficacy of RNA-based therapies and to optimize GMP-compatible manufacturing processes for RNA. He has co-authored numerous publications and patents ranging from basic research on RNA to its application as a diagnostic and therapeutic agent.

Keynote: Wednesday, September, 8, 2021

Christine Allen

Associate Vice-President & Vice-Provost, Strategic Initiatives & Professor at University of Toronto

Dr. Christine Allen is the Associate Vice-President and Vice-Provost, Strategic Initiatives (AVPVP SI) at the University of Toronto (UofT). She is a full professor in the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy and holds a PhD in chemistry. Her research focuses on the design of innovative materials and drug delivery technologies. She is the co-founder and served as President of Nanovista Inc., a company focused on high-precision, image-guided cancer therapy. Professor Allen has received career awards from CIHR/Rx&D, the Canadian Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences (CSPS) and the Association of Faculties of Pharmacy of Canada. She is a fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, CSPS, the Controlled Release Society (CRS) and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. She is the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Controlled Release, President of CSPS and an appointed member of the Governing Council of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada. Christine is a strong advocate of equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) in research and innovation. She is the chair of the inaugural standing committee on EDI in Research and Innovation at UofT, an unconscious bias facilitator and founder of the UofT Women in STEM: Leading and Reading book club.

Keynote: Thursday, September, 9, 2021

Andre Nel

Distinguished Professor David Geffen School of Medicine at the California NanoSystems Institute (CNSI), UCLA

Andre Nel is a Distinguished Professor of Medicine and is Founder and Chief of the Division of Nanomedicine. In addition, he is the Director of the University of California’s Center for Environmental Implications of Nanotechnology (UC CEIN), a $48 million National Science Foundation (NSF) and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) funded multidisciplinary and multi-institutional center for nanosafety implementation in the US. He also directs a National Cancer Institute (NCI) funded Center to study development of new nanoparticle drug delivery systems for the treatment of pancreas cancer, and previously directed the National Institutes of Health (NIH) funded Center for Nanobiology and Predictive Toxicology which focuses on human inhalation toxicology. Dr. Nel received the Harry Truman Lectureship award from Sandia National laboratories in 2012. Under his leadership, UC CEIN received the 2013 Governor’s Economic and Environmental Leadership Award (GEELA) in California. In 2014 he served on the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) panel reviewing and providing recommendations for the future of the National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI). Dr. Nel has represented the NIH and NNI in cooperative research agreements with Japan, Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Russia. He is an Honorary Foreign Professor in the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and have served as a member of a distinguished NSF panel that produced a comprehensive US Government Science Report and vision for US nanotechnology research in 2011-2020. Dr. Nel serves as Associate Editor of ACS Nano, an internationally recognized journal.

Keynote: Thursday, September, 9, 2021

Register Now!

Don’t wait to register online for NME21! Would you be a young scientist, a project manager in Nanomedicine, an entrepreneur, a clinician, working in Pharma or MedTech industry, NME21 is a unique opportunity to meet new collaborators and share your success story!

Contact Us